Board of Zoning Appeals

About the Board of Zoning Appeals

The Board of Zoning Appeals is comprised of five citizens who hear variance requests and appeals of zoning determinations. Members are appointed by the Circuit Court for five-year terms. Members include: 

MembersTerm ExpiresElection District
George Randolph "Randy" Whitmore, Jr.6/30/2024Election District 1
Keith Hurst6/30/2026Election District 2
Jon. D. Ritenour6/30/2025Election District 3
Michael Harvey6/30/2023Election District 4
Charles E. Dean6/30/2027Election District 5

Board of Zoning Appeal public meetings are scheduled when an application for appeal or variance is received by County staff.  

To appeal the Zoning Administrator’s zoning determination, use the Zoning Appeals Application

To apply for a variance contact the Zoning Administrator. 

If you would like the Board to consider you for appointment to this or any of the committees, boards, commissions, etc., please email Jessica Kilby

For more information, see the Community Development page.