If you are filing a Concealed Handgun Permit application and are requesting that fees be waived in accordance with §18.2-308(K) of the 1950 Code of Virginia as amended, you will need to include with your application documentation to show proof of retirement or service in accordance with this code section.
No fee shall be charged beyond the $10 processing fee for issuance of such permit to a person who has retired from service:
As a magistrate in the Commonwealth of Virginia
As a special agent with the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board or as a law enforcement officer with the Department of State Police, the Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, or a sheriff or police department, bureau, or force of any political subdivision of the Commonwealth, after completing 15 years of service or after reaching age 55
As a law-enforcement officer with the United States Federal Bureau of Investigation, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms, Secret Service Agency, Drug Enforcement Administration, United States Citizenship and Immigration Services, Customs Service, Department of State Diplomatic Security Service, U.S. Marshals Service or Naval Criminal Investigative Service, after completing 15 years of service or after reaching age 55
As a law-enforcement officer with any police or sheriff’s department within the United States, the District of Columbia or any of the territories of the United States, after completing 15 years of service
As a law-enforcement officer with any combination of the agencies listed in clauses above after completing fifteen years of service