How Do I
Click to Home
PrintMail

Go To Search
Rockingham County
Administration Center
20 E. Gay St.
Harrisonburg, VA 22802
One-Time Civil Celebrant

Individuals wanting to perform a wedding ceremony in the Commonwealth of Virginia must receive authorization through the court, prior to performing the ceremony, pursuant to Virginia Code §20-25. Authorization will be on a one-time basis only. The authorization is only valid for couples with a Virginia-issued marriage license and for a ceremony located in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Please allow 3-5 days prior to the ceremony for the authorization process.

PETITION TO PERFORM ONE-TIME CIVIL MARRIAGE CEREMONY 
*Form works best using Internet Explorer or Firefox

Eligibility Requirements:
  • Must be at least 18 years of age or older.
  • Must never have been convicted of a felony.
  • Must execute a $500.00 bond without surety. Due after the Court authorizes the petition.
  • Must reside in the 26th Judicial Circuit
    • Includes Clarke Circuit Court, Frederick Circuit Court, Page Circuit Court, Rockingham Circuit Court, Shenandoah Circuit Court, Warren Circuit Court, Winchester Circuit Court

Filing Requirements:
  • The petition must be typed or legibly printed in black ink. Petition is also available on a computer in the Clerk’s Office Deed Room for completion. 
  • Petition must be notarized or signed in front of a deputy clerk
  • Bring a valid photo ID with you.
  • There is a $61.00 filing fee payable at the time of filing the petition. We accept cash, checks, money orders or VISA/MasterCard with a 4% surcharge.